معلومات عنا

جئت إلى Peninsula READS للحصول على مهارات قراءة أفضل. كنت أرغب في التسجيل في فصول GED والحصول على GED الخاص بي حتى أتمكن من متابعة شهادة في إدارة الأعمال. لقد منحتني المهارات التي أتعلمها الثقة. كل شيء أسهل ، حتى الذهاب إلى متجر البقالة! "

- أودري

مهمة

توفير مهارات القراءة والكتابة اللازمة للبالغين للعمل بشكل أكثر فعالية في حياتهم ومجتمعاتهم.

[عدل]

[عدل]

هدف

في مجتمع اليوم ، تنتقل المعلومات باستمرار وبسرعة عبر مختلف أشكال وسائل الإعلام. لذلك ، لكي تكون ناجحًا ، سواء في المنزل أو في العمل أو في المجتمع ككل ، يجب أن يمتلك البالغون مهارات وأدوات محو الأمية اللازمة للوصول إلى هذه المعلومات. بدون المهارات اللازمة ، غالبًا ما يكون البالغون غير قادرين على العثور على عمل أو تعليم أطفالهم أو قراءة ملصقات الوصفات الطبية أو حتى الذهاب إلى متجر البقالة أو الطبيب بأنفسهم.

تسعى Peninsula READS ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع فريق من المتطوعين المتفانين ، إلى توفير الموارد اللازمة لتزويد الطلاب البالغين بالمعرفة والمهارات الحاسمة للأداء الناجح في مجتمع متعلم.

[عدل]

[عدل]

بناء

Peninsula READS هو برنامج محو أمية للكبار يعتمد على المجتمع المحلي ويوفر تعليمات فردية في مجالات القراءة والكتابة والرياضيات ، بالإضافة إلى تعليم مجموعة صغيرة باللغة الإنجليزية للمتحدثين بلغات أخرى. كما يتم تقديم تعليمات في محو الأمية الحاسوبية. يتم توفير خدمات التدريس هذه من قبل متطوعين مدربين مكرسين لمساعدة المتعلمين البالغين على تحقيق أهدافهم في محو الأمية. تتوفر الخدمات للمقيمين في هامبتون ونيوبورت نيوز وبوكوسون ومقاطعة يورك ، ويقع مكتبنا في موقع ملائم على خطوط الحافلات في نيوبورت نيوز وهامبتون ليسهل الوصول إليها من قبل المجتمع.

[عدل]

تم تأسيس Peninsula READS في كومنولث فرجينيا ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية 501 (c) (3) يحكمها مجلس إدارة متطوع. المجلس مسؤول عن توفير وإشراف المدير التنفيذي ، الذي يدير الموظفين والعمليات اليومية للمنظمة.

[عدل]

[عدل]

[عدل]

قصة ميشيل

البرامج

تقدم Peninsula READS برنامجين أساسيين ، برنامج محو الأمية الأساسي للكبار لمتحدثي اللغة الإنجليزية المولودين في الولايات المتحدة وبرنامج اللغة الإنجليزية للمتحدثين بلغات أخرى (ESOL). عند الدخول في أحد البرامج ، تتم مطابقة المتعلمين مع معلمين متطوعين مدربين ومتفانين يلتقون معهم حوالي مرتين في الأسبوع لمساعدتهم على تحقيق أهدافهم في محو الأمية. يأتي كل متعلم مع أهداف مختلفة تعكس احتياجاته الفردية. لذلك ، يتم تخصيص المناهج الدراسية لمنح كل متعلم تجربة تعليمية ذات صلة وجذابة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، نظرًا لأن التكنولوجيا أصبحت ضرورية بشكل متزايد للمهام اليومية ، يتم دمج محو الأمية الحاسوبية في المناهج الدراسية.

التاريخ

منذ عام 1968 ، تقوم Peninsula READS بتعليم الكبار لمحو الأمية لتحقيق النجاح ، حيث تخدم حوالي 250 بالغًا في السنة. وقد وجهت المنظمة تاريخيا تطوير العديد من منظمات محو الأمية الأخرى وتواصل هذا التوجيه حتى الوقت الحاضر. منذ عام 1971 ، كانت Peninsula READS وكالة عضو فخور في United Way of Virginia Peninsula. في مناسبتين ، اعترفت مؤسسة فيرجينيا لمحو الأمية بشبه جزيرة READS على أنها "مجموعة متميزة خاصة لمحو الأمية" في فرجينيا.

المتعلمين

توظيف

يعمل العديد من البالغين الذين يسعون إلى محو الأمية على كسب GED® أو معادلة ثانوية أخرى. إن امتلاك شهادة اعتماد في المدرسة الثانوية يوفر للبالغين مجموعة أكبر من الوظائف . وعلى مستوى أكثر أساسية ، قد لا يتمكن المتعلمون الذين ليس لديهم طباعة وظيفية أو معرفة بالكمبيوتر من تحديد موقع وقراءة - طلبات العمل الأقل اكتمالًا - للوظائف التي يبحثون عنها. من خلال تمكينهم من العثور على عمل والحفاظ عليه ، تساعد Peninsula READS وغيرها من مؤسسات تعليم الكبار الأشخاص على إعالة أسرهم ، واكتساب الثقة بالنفس ، وتعزيز الاقتصاد.

صحتهم

هناك علاقة قوية بين محو الأمية والصحة. وجد تقرير صادر عن وزارة التعليم الأمريكية عام 2006 أن البالغين الذين أبلغوا ذاتيًا عن أسوأ حالة صحية لديهم أيضًا أقل قدر من مهارات القراءة والكتابة والحساب ومحو الأمية الصحية. وعلى العكس من ذلك ، يؤدي تحسين معرفة القراءة والكتابة إلى اتخاذ قرارات صحية أكثر استنارة فيما يتعلق بالتغذية والرعاية الوقائية. بدون القدرة على قراءة ملصقات التغذية ، على سبيل المثال ، يجد المتعلمون صعوبة في اتخاذ قرار مستنير. محو الأمية - وبالتالي ، محو الأمية الصحية - أمر بالغ الأهمية لرفاهية مجتمعنا.

النجاح الأكاديمي لأطفالهم

إلى جانب العمل مع هؤلاء المتعلمين لتحسين مهاراتهم في القراءة والرياضيات ، يمكن للخدمات التي تقدمها Peninsula READS أيضًا تحسين نجاح أطفالهم. دراسة عام 2010 ممولة

وجدت المعاهد الوطنية للصحة أن مهارات القراءة لدى الأمهات هي العامل الأكثر أهمية

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالنجاح الأكاديمي المستقبلي لأطفالهم - أكثر من موقع المدرسة أو الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي. إن مساعدة الكبار على اكتساب أو تحسين مهاراتهم في القراءة والكتابة هي استثمار في مستقبل أطفالهم ، وكذلك مستقبلهم. نجاح هؤلاء الأطفال ، بدوره ، يمكن أن يكسر بشكل فعال دائرة انخفاض محو الأمية والفقر وسوء الصحة التي تأتي معها.

حياتهم اليومية

يؤدي محو الأمية المنخفض إلى عدد من الصراعات الأصغر التي تحدث طوال حياة المتعلم اليومية. تخيل أنك تحاول أن تجعل طريقك في الحياة غير قادر على قراءة لافتات الشوارع أو كتابة رسائل البريد الإلكتروني أو فهم فواتيرك. تشكل هذه الصراعات حقيقة حياة البالغين في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة.

الآثار الواسعة النطاق لمحو أمية الكبار واضحة. لكن الخبر السار هو أن الآثار الإيجابية لتعليم الكبار واسعة بنفس القدر. من خلال التبرع لـ Peninsula READS أو أن تصبح معلمًا ، يمكنك المساعدة في المساهمة في ذلك التأثير الإيجابي في مجتمعك.

 (757) 727-1097
4207 Victoria Blvd
Hampton, VA 23669

اتصل بنا

Website by Creative Copy & Design | Yorktown, VA

Peninsula Reads logo graphic_edite
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

(757) 283-5776
11832 Fishing Point Dr., Suite 200
Newport News, VA 23606

اقرأ © 2020 Peninsula. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

ABOUT US

“I came to Peninsula READS to get better reading skills.  I wanted to enroll in GED classes and get my GED so I can pursue a degree in Business Management.  The skills I am learning have given me confidence.  Everything is easier, even going to the grocery store!”
 

– Audrey

Relevant Education for Adult Developmental Success

Mission

To provide literacy skills necessary for adults to function more effectively in their lives and communities.

Purpose

In today’s society, information is constantly and quickly moving across various forms of media. Therefore, in order to be successful, whether at home, at work, or in the community at large, adults must have the literacy skills and tools needed to access this information.  Without the necessary skills, adults are often unable to find work, educate their children, read prescription labels, or even go to the grocery store or physician by themselves.

 

Peninsula READS, together with a team of dedicated volunteers, strives to provide the resources necessary to equip adult students with the knowledge and skills critical to successful performance in a literate society.

Structure

Peninsula READS is a community-based adult literacy program that provides one-on-one instruction in the areas of reading, writing, and math, as well as small group instruction in English for speakers of other languages.  Instruction in computer literacy is also offered.  These tutoring services are provided by trained volunteers who are dedicated to helping adult learners reach their literacy goals.  Services are available to residents of Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson and York County, and both our offices are conveniently located on bus lines in Newport News and Hampton for easy access by the community.

Incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia, Peninsula READS is a non-profit, 501(c) (3) organization governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. The Board is responsible for the provision and supervision of the Executive Director, who manages the staff and daily operations of the organization.

 

 

Michelle's Story

Programs

Peninsula READS offers two primary programs, Adult Basic Literacy Program for American-born English speakers and English for Speakers of Other Languages Program (ESOL).  Upon entrance into one of the programs, learners are matched with trained and dedicated volunteer tutors who will meet with them about twice a week to help them reach their literacy goals.  Each learner comes with different goals that reflect their individual needs.  Therefore, curriculum is individualized to give each learner a learning experience that is relevant and engaging.  Additionally, since technology is becoming increasingly necessary for everyday tasks, computer literacy is incorporated into the curriculum.

History

Since 1968, Peninsula READS has been teaching adults literacy for success, serving about 250 adults per year.  The organization has historically guided the development of numerous other literacy organizations and continues this mentoring to the present time. Since 1971, Peninsula READS has been a proud member agency of the United Way of the Virginia Peninsula. On two occasions, the Virginia Literacy Foundation recognized Peninsula READS as an “Outstanding Private Literacy Group” in Virginia.

Learners

Employment

Many of the adults seeking literacy education are working toward earning their GED® or other high school equivalency. Having a high school credential provides adults with a larger job pool. And on a more basic level, learners without functional print or computer literacy may be unable to locate and read — much less complete — job applications for the positions they seek. By empowering them to find and maintain employment, Peninsula READS and other adult education organizations are helping people to provide for their families, gain self-confidence, and strengthen the economy.

Their Health

There is a strong correlation between literacy and health. A 2006 report by the U.S. Department of Education found that adults who self-reported the worst health also had the most limited literacy, numeracy, and health literacy skills. Conversely, improved literacy results in more informed health decisions regarding nutrition and preventative care. Without the ability to read nutrition labels, for example, learners have a harder time making informed decision. Literacy — and, by extension, health literacy — is crucial to the well-being of our community.

Their Children’s Academic Success

Alongside working with these learners to improve their reading and math skills, the services provided by Peninsula READS can also improve the success of their children. A 2010 study funded

by the National Institutes of Health found that mothers’ reading skills are the most significant factor

when it comes to their children’s future academic success — more so than school location or socioeconomic status. Helping an adult to gain or improve their literacy skills is an investment in their child’s future, as well as their own. The success of these children, in turn, could effectively break the cycle of low literacy and the poverty and poor health that come with it.

Their Daily Lives

Low literacy leads to a number of smaller struggles that occur throughout learner’s daily lives. Imagine trying to make your way through life unable to read street signs, write emails, or understand your bills. These struggles make up the reality for the lives of adults across the United States.

The wide-reaching effects of low adult literacy are clear. But the good news is, the positive impacts of adult education are just as vast. By donating to Peninsula READS or becoming a tutor, you can help contribute to that positive impact in your community.

 (757) 727-1097
4207 Victoria Blvd
Hampton, VA 23669

Contact Us

Website by Creative Copy & Design | Yorktown, VA

Peninsula Reads logo graphic_edite
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

(757) 283-5776
11832 Fishing Point Dr., Suite 200
Newport News, VA 23606

©2020 Peninsula READS. All Rights Reserved.